Letterboxing my images to create “Film stills” – success!!

With this image I decided to work with death in a direct obvious confrontation..It’s not normally my style, I like to be a little more subtle.  I should’ve splashed about some fake blood though..

I shot this on my Canon EOS 1000D, from a three storey fire escape, to give the spectator a wide angle of view, and a birds eye view of sorts. We’re spying on the figure from above.

The still looks a lot more “film like” with the letterboxing, and i’ve decided to continue this with my post-processing.
The colouring for my images is going to be in black and white, I feel it makes me rethink taking the image, considering all possibilties for tone and lightplay, and also staying true to the original look of Film Noir.

~ by Ashleigh Inglis on 05/23/2010.

Leave a comment