Behind the scenes set up shots, for some previous shoots.

Seeing as I found it completely impossible to find a good set of old school blinds, I decided to recreate my own, using duct tape and boxes. Shooting on my 1000D and a D90, I got some pleasing results from both, but it wasn’t all smooth sailing.

I learnt (the hard way) that you move the box (with the flash in it) closer to the subject..Not take all the tape off, and make smaller lines..

After I realised that amateur mistake, I also had the problem that I wanted to shoot on my Canon, but the flash was triggered (and the flash itself) was by Nikon. I couldn’t be in two places at once, I needed to put the box/blinds onto a continuous light source, which after searching high and low through the photography department and couldn’t find, i stumbled upon the life drawing old-school projector..


Now this worked out perfectly, the quality of the light that came from the projector was multi-tonal, and looked rather film like..Also, I liked how the edges were blurred, and less sharp than the images taken with the Nikon Flash..From this I started taking some murky looking snaps..

~ by Ashleigh Inglis on 05/22/2010.

Leave a comment